Integral Tai Chi

Integral Tai Chi (CK10) is a series of exercises, relaxation technique and meditation that combine Yoga, Tai Chi, Qi Gong, and meditation into a self-healing system that integrates body, mind and spirit. This comprehensive approach involves a series of 10 body movement postures each designed to increase balance, awareness, endurance, flexibility, flow, concentration, energy and spiritual transformation.

Wednesday, November 17, 2010

dragon posture 5


The dragon exercises the heart chakra (chakra 4) and is positive in its nature. While the phoenix represents the utmost negative polarity, the dragon is the utmost positive one. The dragon flies up Mount Tu Di (which represents our karmic self -- the accumulation of generations of karma) and destroys it to clear the way to allow the transformation of a self-centered nature into compassion and other-centered being.


  • The dragon's mantra is silence, signifying the need to remain silence and introspective to transform our karmic self into a selfless boundless love.

Essential points

  • This form imitates the twisting and flying movement of a dragon.
  • The dragon symbolizes Yang, the positive polarity, one of the two primal forces of nature.

Points of attention

  1. Both palms are kept together at all time throughout this exercise.
  2. Both knees are bent and kept together.
  3. Body remains flat and does not lean forward when bending to the left and to the right.
  4. Hip and lower back: twisting of the hip and lower back is the most critical movement in this exercise.
  5. Flying motion: upper elbow must point straight up
  6. Inhale on movements when hands are either to the right side or up. Exhale on movements when hands are to the left side.

1 comment:

  1. Hi, just passing by to see something very interesting and gladly I've found it here. Thank you for your wonderful article it really helped me a lot. You can also visit my site if you have time.